Shara's E Zone

Discover the erotic world of Shara Lanel romances…

A Bird in the Hand or Wishful Thinking?

This year has been an interesting year full of joyful offers of contracts and depths of despair readings of contracts. If you’re a writer, you’ll understand the bizarre hope we cherish of selling our baby, our book, to the perfect publisher. Against all odds! We will prevail! And finally we do prevail…

That’s when things get complicated.

I don’t have an agent yet, but I’m hopeful that I’m getting close. What I know more than anything is that I want an agent, because I’m tired of trying to figure out these contract clauses and the chess game of my career by myself. It should be simple–I write a book, I sell a book, I write another book. But who do I want to sell to? What will help my career? What will stop it cold?

If your friend steps off the top of an iceburg, do you do the same?

What do I mean by that? What in the world does that have to do with contracts? Well, if your fellow author signs with one company despite a nasty clause in the contract, should you do the same? Do they know something you don’t? Or is it more likely that you’re looking at the whole picture…your career…while they’re not? I don’t know, and how do you tell?

You get advice from more experienced authors, maybe even a lawyer or an agent, but then it comes down to you.

I hate that part! Just tell me what’s right. Don’t make me decide. Don’t make me pull out my crystal ball and say, “If I choose A, show me the future. If I choose B, show me the future.” Because my crystal ball can’t see very far down the path, can’t anticipate future sales, future offers of representation. Maybe they’ll be NONE. Maybe the bird in the hand in better.

Just tell me!

But it’s up to me, isn’t it? I have to choose the path of my career by carefully reading the terms of each contract, attempting to negotiate, and ultimately walking away if I think those terms are either not fair to me or may screw up future opportunities.

Will I ever find out if I made the right decision? 20/20 hindsight right, so at some point in my career I suppose I’ll be able to look back and say, “Here’s where I made the right choice, and here’s where I went off track.” But if I went off track, hindsight is not very helpful, is it? Will it be too late to fix the mistakes I’ve made?

So what’s my point? Anticipate the path of your career as you envision it and judge contracts based on that path. If those contracts with their funky clauses mean you might lose a future opportunity, then you probably need to negotiate or walk away. But making that decision is AGONY! I want to announce to the world that I made that sale to that company with that book, and walking away means a delay, a bridge burned. It’s painful, after all the waiting, to have to wait some more for that unknown future, that possibility, that hopeful wish.

But then I believe in HAPPY ENDINGS. That’s why I write romance, so I guess in the end it’s worth the risk to believe in myself, take that leap of faith instead of jumping off an iceburg after someone else. I need to follow the path that makes sense to me, even if I can’t explain it to someone else. Live through the pain, feel the fear and do it anyway. Grr. Just let me write my books, dammit!

Shara

http://www.sharalanel.com

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A Bird in the Hand or Wishful Thinking?

  1. I was just talking about this very thing. So much of what we rely on comes from the RWA organization. I know on the website it has sample contracts, things to look for, etc. But if a publisher is RWA approved then I think they should have a standard RWA contract. I understand differences in percentages of pa out, but the rights to the work, the length of time a work is bound to a place, that should all be standard issue but it is not. Companies that were author friendly before, most created by authors in the E-industry are getting tougher and wanting more. I wonder why? What has changed, are people using them or are they aware of how many of us want so badly to be a part of the PAN in RWA’s eyes that they ask for more than our book, they ask for our rights, and come just short of signing away our soul. Is this a trend or is it something we discover as we get more offers from bigger venues? Ugh. I feel your frustration and wish you the best as you decide.

  2. Thanks, Cara. And I don’t really know that much about PAN–what extra perks come with membership. The thing I need to remember is, RWA approval or not, I’m planning a career as an author and that’s what counts.

  3. Nice blog, Shara! I like wordpress.com.
    I took the plunge a few weeks back and am already feeling the pressure to put something up every few days. Whew!

  4. I keep hearing that regularity is important to keep a blog going. Hope I can maintain that myself. Good luck on yours! The other thing I hear is that I’m supposed to write daily to be a good writer, and I never manage to do that either.

Leave a Reply

