Shara's E Zone

Discover the erotic world of Shara Lanel romances…

Baking today…

I delivered the teacher gifts this morning, since they wouldn’t fit in my son’s backpack. My son had a harmonica concert for the other students. This apparently involved the entire third grade playing “Jingle Bells” on their harmonicas. God bless the music teacher! I can’t imagine. I’m reminded of the years I played violin. How did my parents deal?

Meanwhile, I’m trying to get some baking done today. I’m cheating on the sugar cookies, because the fun part is letting my son attack the dough with the cookie cutters and spread the frosting, so I’m using refrigerator dough. But that’s for afterschool–and can you believe this is the last day of school until Jan. 2? How am I going to get anything done?!

Right now I’m working on Treasure Balls. My mom has been baking these since the ’70s when she got the recipe in a Welcome Wagon cookbook. Now I bake them usually 2 or 3 times during the season, quadrupling the original recipe. Here it is if you’d like to try it out–don’t forget the last step, which is shaking the cooled balls in confectioners’ sugar. If they don’t come out round, don’t worry, they still taste good!

TREASURE BALLS

1 stick butter or margerine

3 tbsp. brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 c. walnuts

1/2 c. choco. chips

1 c. minus 2 tbsp. flour

Roll into balls on pan, bake at 350 degrees for 15 mins. The bottoms should look golden brown. Let cool completely then roll in confectioners’ sugar (either by shaking in a bag or sprinkling over top).

Another recipe from the ’70s is, I think, from Girl Scouts. I don’t know if they leader made it up or what. Could’ve been from school, but I have this vague memory…might have been Brownies actually, when we made out situpons. This is so easy for kids to make to give someone:

SPICE TEA

1 lb. 2 oz. jar Tang (when’s the last time you had Tang?)

1 lb. 8 oz. jar instant tea with lemon

1 1/2 c. sugar

2 tsp. ground cloves and 1 tsp. ground cinamon

On tag, say “Use 2 tsps. per cup water.” And it smells really good.

Okay, hopefully the butter sticks are softened enough to stir now. One day maybe I’ll own a stand mixer, which would make the whole “creaming” process much simpler.

Shara

www.sharalanel.com

 

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Baking today…

  1. I’m not much of a baker, but I’d be happy to eat all you want to send my way! 😉 Love ya.

    Jeff

  2. Let me know when you want to hook up and I’ll bring you a batch.:-) Man, the dough is yum…oops, guess I should keep my fingers out of it, huh?

    Shara

  3. Sounds yummy! But where’s the rum? I like my Holiday rummy. LOL.

  4. Rum will hopefully be forthcoming tomorrow night when my friend Tracy brings me my presents. We have our traditional gifts–I give treasure balls, Tracy gives rum cake, and friend Di brings her mom’s Williamsburg cookies. I can’t wait!

    Shara

  5. I’m also wondering if I make Divinity today if it will turn into anything besides mush. I’ve been told this has something to do with Virginia’s humidity.

  6. The treasure balls sound fabulous, Shara!!

    About the divinity, that’s an old Southern treat isn’t it? Anything that’s “Southern” can’t wilt in the humidity. Besides, can’t you stick it in the ‘fridge?

    You are seriously getting into the baking thing, woman!

    Dee

  7. I know the recipe is good. Made them this year with blended Splenda brown sugar. They taste great!

  8. Ooh, I haven’t tried them with Splenda. Didn’t know if they’d work.

    Dee, I don’t know what it is with me and Divinity, but Mom seems to have issues with it every other year too.

    Shara

  9. How come school is getting out so early? Christmas is still a week away.

  10. To torture us parents maybe? He’s out all the way until Jan. 2nd!

  11. Treasure balls – yummy! Did someone mention Rum cake? I guess that will depend on how late Santa is up wrappiing presents.

  12. Woohoo, I got my rum cake! A whole one all to myself–thank you, Santa Tracy!

  13. JUDY COX on said:

    I LOVE THE SPICED TEAS. I AM GOING TO TRY YOUR TREASURE BALLS, THEY LOOK DELICIOUS AND LOOK TO BE VERY EAST TO MAKE.

Leave a Reply

