Shara's E Zone

Discover the erotic world of Shara Lanel romances…

When I loved Jon-Erik Hexum…

Jon Erik HexumDuring the early 80s I was head-over-heels in love with the actor Jon-Erik Hexum. Anyone remember him? My parents probably remember my frantic attempts to get the TV channel from Canada to look like anything besides snow when Voyagers! came on. I was desperate not to miss the show, and I have this memory that they stopped showing it on our US station for some reason and I could only get it on a Canadian one. We lived about an hour south of Buffalo, so, if we were lucky, we could get it tuned in.

I even wrote letters to Jon-Erik. I’m sure they were depressingly sappy, since I was in 7th grade at the time and full of hormones and a general outcast at school. I still have the signed postcard from him, along with one from the star of Airwolf and a Rick Springfield one. I’d mapped a bike route across the USA for when I planned to runaway and be with him…or Rick Springfield, whichever one would take me in.

Yep, I planned to pedal across the entire United States. Bright, wasn’t I?

VoyagersI’ve been waiting for years to get Voyagers! on DVD. Someone on ebay was selling it on video, but they seemed to be copies bootlegged from the television, commercials and all. But I recently saw on Amazon that it’s finally coming to DVD legitimately. I’ve got it on pre-order along with the 7th Harry Potter book.

Sadly, Jon-Erik Hexum does not have a happy ending. He died in 1984 while working on the show Cover Up, because he was messing with a gun loaded with blanks and didn’t realize how dangerous even blanks could be. For some reason I think I heard about this while I was in the cafeteria at school. I would’ve been a freshman in high school.

Cover UpBut more than the actor, it was the show that captured me. I was too young to differentiate between how Jon-Erik was in his role of Phineas Bogg to how he might be in real life. I loved the idea of time travel. That’s why when Quantum Leap premiered in 1989, I fell in love with that show as well, but I never had the massive crush on Scott Bakula.

Sigh. To be so naive again. Nah! Who needs the pain?

Shara

www.sharalanel.com

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “When I loved Jon-Erik Hexum…

  1. Lolo on said:

    I loved John Erik too and followed his career from voyagers to cover up and remember hearing the news of his death.. so sad.. I was in my twenties so guess he appealed to all ages.

  2. Hi Lolo! Yeah, my parents liked both of those shows too. I’m counting down the days to the DVD release and consoling myself with Greatest American Hero and Simon & Simon 1st seasons.

  3. Hi Shara,
    I loved reading your blog, I probably would have been the same way. Actually when I first started watching Voyagers, I was in 7th grade and it was repeats on the sci-fi channel, I fell in love then too. Well, I just wanted to let you know to please go to my website to see my Voyagers Tribute, I adore the show. Leave a guestbook message if you can. I’d appreciate it. Jon-Erik was an amazing person and would have went on to be an amazing actor. Also, please check out my username: GDLR on Youtube. I posted all these interviews and fun videos with Jon-Erik, you’ll love it.
    Take care! G.

  4. Hi Ginger, I think I came across your site when I was googling Jon-Erik for this blog. It’s great! I’ll definitely have to look up your YouTube stuff. And I got my Voyagers DVD in the mail from Amazon–I’m so excited!

  5. Thanks for replying Shara,
    Glad you like the site! You are going to love the DVD, sooo clear and uncut! I wish they had extras, but that’s universal for Ya. I really liked Quantum Leap also.
    Luv, G.

  6. Wow, it’s been a while, but I wound up stumbling on this blog again. I just wanted to drop a line that my Voyagers! website address is changed, if you click on the link to ‘VoyagerG.’ I have did massive updates in the last two years also…with more to come.

    Take care! G

  7. Margaret on said:

    I totally understand how ya were head over heels for him! I mean how could ya not be?! πŸ˜‰ He was somethin’ extra special!

    Thanks for sharin’ yur memories of him. And it’s just so awesome that ya have a signed postcard from him! OK…now I’m gettin’ jealous! LOL. πŸ˜€

    Have a great day! πŸ™‚

  8. Great blog post! I was 15-17 when his career was in full swing, I wouldn’t have minded running away with him myself.

    If you haven’t signed up already, we invite you to join us on our message board for fans and friends of Jon-Erik.

    http://jon-erikhexumfans.proboards.com/index.cgi?action=login

    It’s by membership approval, but we have a great group of people there and the discussions are always fun. Plus, the place is peppered with pictures of that gorgeous hunk! ;o)

    KC

  9. Wow, it’s so great that you all are finding this post after so much time! I’ll have to find my postcard so I can scan it and post it.
    HAPPY HOLIDAYS ladies πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

