Shara's E Zone

Discover the erotic world of Shara Lanel romances…

Surfacing from Harry Potter

After just about 24 hours straight (with a few breaks for food, eye health, and sleep), I’ve finished reading the 7th installment of Harry Potter. And I’d love to tell you all about it, but I don’t want to spoil your fun! Plus my eyes are still in recovery…the computer screen’s looking a little splotchy and fuzzy. I’ve avoided all media as I waited to get my hands on the book, because I’d already seen the headlines about spoilers leaked and copies posted on the internet. That’s sad, really. Part of the fun is waiting with everyone else, whether at a party or at home by the mail box, then racing to read it and discussing it together. What fun is it to know first and have to wait and wait to talk about it?

Of course, some of my friends are still on Book 3! No hope for them, I’m sorry to say. They’re more caught up on the movies. Then there’s the hubby who decided to read the last page of the last book. What on earth is the point of that? The book is the experience–that’s why we read. Knowing the ending and nothing else doesn’t satisfy, doesn’t fill your soul, and wash you in emotions. Boy, is this book a wash of emotions!

Yesterday, just before the mail arrived, I started rewatching the 4th Harry Potter movie with my son. He finally watched the first 3 movies in the previous week, so he could go to one of the Harry Potter parties with me. We still haven’t finished the 4th movie yet. I’ve seen the 5th movie, of course, and plan to see it on IMAX as soon as I can. I really liked it. Thought it was the best movie since the first.

Sigh…now all there is to do is wait for the last two movies to be released…and reread the books again and again.

Shara

http://www.sharalanel.com

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Surfacing from Harry Potter

  1. My husband blazed through the book in 4 days, a miracle for a 12 hour a day corporate road warrior. He was terrified of the media as well. I thought she did good- i think it may even be my favorite book. Shara, don’ t you think that the movies affected her writing? I really saw this last one almost as a screenplay, and wondered if they helped clarify her action sequences, which i thought were really chaotic and poorly done in books 3 and 5 particularly.

  2. I do feel like the movies have influenced her writing, but it’s not something I can put my finger on. I haven’t reread 3 & 5, but I really want to, particularly since I heard something was changed in the movie version of 5, but I don’t know what.

    My crit partner and I have been discussing the 7th book back and forth and she’s starting to reread it. As she rereads, she finds she likes it better than she did the first time through. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

