Shara's E Zone

Discover the erotic world of Shara Lanel romances…

Making pepper jelly…

Before Christmas I was determined to finally make pepper jelly out of my chile crop from the summer. All chile peppers had been frozen, and I had enough serranos for the recipe I planned to follow. The recipe was simple, so the process should be simple too–right?

Hah! Me plus the kitchen…never simple.

First I had to devein/deseed all the hot peppers. No problem, except this started the problems for the rest of the process and beyond. Why? Because no matter how many times I washed my hands that STUFF was still on them, ready to burn my eyes if I touched them. I tried really hard not to touch them.

So everything goes into a food processor to puree. Easy. Then goes into “heavy bottomed sauce pan” to bring to a boil. I don’t have that many heavy bottomed sauce pans to choose from, ie. one. But it looked big enough. A rolling boil should be manageable, slow, stately big bubbles, not foam cresting at the top of the pan threatening to overflow, right?

You guessed it–I got overflowing foam, so I scooped as fast as I could to get the excess into an adjacent saucepan. Then that pan threatened to overflow. I couldn’t win! More importantly, have you ever sucked in the steam created by a cup of serrano peppers?

Ouch! All my soft tissue membranes were screaming.

Somehow I managed to finish the boiling, add in the gelatin, and pour into the cans. I didn’t worry how much jelly went all over the floor, the table, and the chairs–because hubby’s in charge of the mess AFTER I cook. Needless to say, the kitchen was completely coated.

Success: the jelly actually tasted like pepper jelly I’d had in the past and it had set up properly. I now had several jars of Christmas presents. Problem: one half of my right eye was BRIGHT RED. What? Was I going to go blind? Did I need to see an opthalmologist right away? Luckily I was able to speak to my mom’s eye doctor, who said the red would eventually go away. I just had to live through most of Christmas with people avoiding looking me in the eye.

Shara

http://www.sharalanel.com

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Making pepper jelly…

  1. Sandy Brueser on said:

    hi,
    as one of the people who got some Pepper Jelly for a present i can tell you the effort was worth it! put on crackers with cream cheese first and jelly on top of that it is great! had to go out and buy more crackers to have some more for a snack after having it at Christmas and New Years Eve. i am so proud of her accomplishments in the kitchen considering when she was growing up it was like pulling teeth to get her in there to try her hand at cooking. see i’m her mom so i would know. but she has now done a lot of things

  2. Sounds like it would be a great scene in a book. Funny story though I bet it wasn’t funny at the time. I think I’ll stick to buying the jelly from the store. Good for you sticking with it and getting it done. Hope your eyes better.

  3. Never heard of this kind of jelly. It sounds like quite an ordeal. Glad you didn’t lose and eye! 😉

Leave a Reply

